Skip to content

Reflection on the fast

6 March, 2008
London
(Image by Afshin Rohani)

For me, observing the Baha’i fast gets more enjoyable every year, so far it has been very pleasant. I usually find my mind so preoccupied on the physical dimensions of fasting, that I neglect the far more important spiritual side. But I don’t know what it is, maybe my pre-dawn breakfast is pretty nifty, or maybe the more you spiritually reflect the less you feel the effect of the absence of the food…all i know is the time I have experienced so far has been great and makes me thankful for what I have.

Also I love the way tests will test you in the most wonderful ways (in hindsight), as the time that the fast has began is when my job basically allows me to get free food from restaurants in London during the day. Thank God for the humour, and for the opportunity to fast.

This quote gets me through each day:

Fasting is the cause of awakening man. The heart becomes tender and the spirituality of man increases. This is produced by the fact that man’s thoughts will be confined to the commemoration of God, and through this awakening and stimulation surely ideal advancements follow.

Abdu’l-Baha

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

