Skip to content

Articles of Faith – Baha’is

16 November, 2007

Today on the Times Online website Ruth Gledhill has published a post about the persecution of Baha’is in Iran and Egypt, in particular highlighting the situation of a Baha’i musician living in the United Kingdom longing to share her music in her native country of Iran. It features an interview and a video of her playing piano:

Like all Bahai’s, this young and beautiful musician cannot study at university in Iran. Students have to fill in a form stating their religion. She tells her story: ‘Since I was a child I wanted to become a musician. I loved playing the piano. But after my high school graduation I was not accepted to enter the university in Iran.’ She was able to go to the unofficial Baha’i higher education institution, but there was no music course on offer. ‘I had no other choice and I applied for civil engineering which I did not enjoy, I did not do well and hardly passed the exams. After my BA I decided to go abroad and went to Moscow in order to study music there. It was fantastic, I was able to live my childhood’s dream and I graduated with distinction. I could not wait to return to Iran and start working as a musician.’ …I hope that one day I will be able to perform on an Iranian stage.’

View the entire article here, and be sure to check out news on the situation published by the Baha’i International Community here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ruhiwarrior19 permalink
    18 February, 2008 05:45

    Alláh-u-abhá!
    I am a moderator at a forum called AllBeliefs I think you might enjoy. I don’t mean this as solicitation, but a personal invitation, as I read (and link to) blog regularly and think you have something to contribute to AllBeliefs. We need some more Bahá’ís!

    http://allbeliefs.com/

    God Bless,
    Ruhi

  2. 14 December, 2007 21:53

    wonderfull music . i wish her all luck but donot forget ur home land. please dear u can go to my blog to see a very nice bahai Egyptian song & read about Egyptian bahai: it spaek about bahai principles & dream of peace:
    http://basmagm.wordpress.com/2007/12/08/%d8%a8%d8%a7%d8%ad%d9%84%d9%85-%d8%a8%d9%8a%d9%88%d9%85-%d8%a7%d9%84%d8%b3%d9%84%d8%a7%d9%85/

Leave a Reply

