Skip to content

Youtube Food – Vol.2

21 September, 2006

Gang Starr

Gifted unlimited rhymes universal…That’s the meaning of the acronym we know so well as Guru, who is one of my favourite rappers. When fused with DJ Premier there is no competition to the genius, which is Gang Starr, with a heavyweight title of prolific albums including Moment Of Truth (best album I ever bought don’t tell Nas that), which is sensational. It’s not surprising they are such a quality street team, there music is powerful hard-hitting and meaningful there is little room made for egocentric dribble, Guru just blesses us “I spit gems in the form of phlegm” as his lyrics often remind us. Though now their reunion is doubtable, check out the video and reminiscence of the former glory.
This verse is just immense:

Sometimes you gotta dig deep, when problems come near
Dont fear things get severe for everybody everywhere
Why do bad things happen, to good people?
Seems that life is just a constant war between good and evil
The situation that Im facin, is mad amazin
To think such problems can arise from minor confrontations
Now Im contemplatin in my bedroom pacin
Dark clouds over my head, my hearts racin
Suicide? nah, Im not a foolish guy
Dont even feel like drinking, or even gettin high
Cause all thats gonna do really, is accelerate
The anxieties that I wish I could alleviate
But wait, Ive been through a whole lot of other s***, before
So I oughta be able, to withstand some more
But Im sweatin though, my eyes are turnin red and yo
Im ready to lose my mind but instead I use my mind
I put down the knife, and take the bullets out my nine
My only crime, was that Im too damn kind
And now some skanless motherf***** wanna take whats mine
But they cant take the respect, that Ive earned in my lifetime
And you know theyll never stop the furious force of my rhymes
So like they say, every dog has its day
And like they say, God works in a mysterious way
So I pray, remembering the days of my youth
As I prepare to meet my moment of truth…

(Gang Starr – Moment Of Truth)

Gang Starr – Mass Appeal

 

~Peace~

One Comment leave one →
  1. 23 April, 2008 02:39

    Instead of being “In the zone”, BE THE ZONE.

    Guru & Primo always keep it real.

    Top hip hop group of all time.

    Peace to everyone out there keepin’ it real!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

